Childhood Classic Meets Sunday Morning Brunch: Peanut Butter & Jam Waffles

So I started working on a non-food post. I have been running a mile a minute lately, and it sort of hit me. And I wanted to talk about how we all sort of do it. But I mean it has been a delicious couple of weeks here at the Dignard house (who would have thought a new stove would prompt such genius) and it feels unfair that I keep posting photos on Instagram and not sharing the recipes. And these waffles man. So good.

Lately I have been all about comfort food with a twist – brownies loaded with protein and other healthy stuff, butternut squash mac n cheese, zoodles (not the delicious canned pasta of my childhood, zucchini noodle-fied with my new veggie spiralizer, but more on that later) with avocado cream sauce, and now these peanut butter and jam in waffle form.

IMG_20150308_101314

Yes. These are a thing. On Amazon. If you live in the United States they are both cheaper and there are more varieties (including cookie dough. I am working on my US Visa now.). I am annoyed that these only come in 22 packs when everywhere else operates with 12 or 24 packs, but still delish.

There is something so wonderfully comforting about a peanut butter and jam sandwich. As an adult I am now expected to be a little more sophisticated in my dining choices. So I find sneaky ways to be a child. Like putting sprinkles in everything (David’s Tea sells tea with sprinkles. I know all the tricks.). And these totally fantastic peanut butter and jelly sandwich coffee kcups I found on Amazon. And, of course, these waffles. I mean they required effort, that’s adult-y…right?

A lot of people find Belgian waffles to be a little intimidating, but these are incredibly easy. I promise. It is practically a requirement for any recipe I share. If I am not convinced my mom could make without me around, I don’t share. So yes, you must be able to whisk things without getting those things on the ceiling, but if you have any sort of coordination (which I don’t), you’ll be fine. I prefer to whisk by hand because it is so liquid-y at the beginning and I don’t have a strong desire to scrape peanut butter off the ceiling, but I have used mixers, it works too. The difference you will notice, which is something I enjoyed, is that by hand mixing, you will still have some small pockets of peanut butter in the batter. This translates to little nuggets of peanut butter and jam throughout the waffles. Yum much? The beaters would probably mix so thoroughly that those chunks would be gone. Just be careful when you’re mixing the flour in that those chunks are peanut butter not flour chunks. Lumpy waffles are not good waffles.

As an added bonus – waffles can be easily frozen and reheated later for a quick breakfast – just turn the waffle iron down a bit so the waffles are just slightly undercooked, separate them and freeze in baggies. When you are ready to eat them simply pop them in the freezer like an Eggo. I told you – I am lazy in the morning. And with some effort on the weekend when “morning” can start at noon, you can be lazy Monday morning too!

IMG_20150308_102447

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (or more if you want it)
  • 2 cups milk (I used skim because that’s all we have, but buttermilk would also be amazing!)
  • 2 tbsp sugar (brown sugar works well too)
  • 1/3 cup butter, melted (or oil)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup jam
  • 1/2 cup chopped peanuts

IMG_20150308_100646

Directions:

  1. Preheat your waffle iron. If using a Cuisinart Breakfast Station (waffles on top omelettes/pancakes on the bottom!) set it to 3 1/2, 3 if you plan on making these and freezing them (which is what we usually do with half the waffles).
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Combine milk, peanut butter, sugar, and melted butter until smooth. Add in the eggs and beat in.
  4. Mix in the flour mixture, being careful to not over-mix. Fold in the peanuts and jam to get the swirl.
  5. Pour scoops into waffle iron and follow your iron’s instructions. IMG_20150308_102325

Enjoy! And remember…

men don't grow up

Leave a Reply

