Peanut Butter Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Banana Buttercream Frosting

Do I have you drooling yet?

Peanut Butter addicts rejoice. I have been on a baking binge and peanut butter has been the star of the show.
This binge began Tuesday night when I realized that my manager was closing on her Birthday. The only logical way I could see to make it better was to make her cupcakes. I usually try to pick a favourite flavour of the recipient (like these pecans & Praline Cupcakes I made for my grandfather last year. Or these peach Bellini cupcakes from my bestie’s birthday this December), but I realized I had forgotten to ask her her cupcake preferences before we left for the night. Fortunately the fact that peanut butter currently tops her pregnancy craving list made it a bit of a no-brainer.
Except I had no peanut butter in the house (I stopped buying it after I ate almost an entire jar without once eating it as part of a meal), so I stopped on the way home to pick up that and a few other small things. A perpetually poor decision maker, I ended up making two kinds of cupcakes because I couldn’t decide. So I rationed that if I just make 9-12 of each that was the same as making a full batch otherwise right?
Back me up on this logic please.

So the binge started with these PB&J cupcakes adapted from a recipe from The Girl Who Ate Everything. Only change I made was adding about 1/3 cup milk to get a moister cupcakes, and I couldn’t find those cookies she put on top, so I just left it at a jam button.Peanut Butter and Jam CupcakesThe binge continued with these PB and Chocolate cupcakes from Bakerella, except I was too lazy/time constrained to make the cookies so I added peanut butter to the batter – adding about 2/3 of a cup. I also added about 2-3 tbsp more milk and 1/2 cup flour to balance out this addition.

Admittedly my frosting isn't nearly as pretty as hers, in my defense, I was rushing to get to work.

Admittedly my frosting isn’t nearly as pretty as hers, in my defense, I was rushing to get to work.

For both frostings I had to add more icing sugar than called for in the recipe to get the stiffness of frosting I prefer, but seriously, I was actually eating this out of the bag when I finished.
At this point I’m thinking, could this get any more delicious?!

Turns out that actually it can.
My dad’s birthday was also this week so when I found out we were doing a birthday thing for him while I was down I offered to make him cupcakes. When I told him about the cupcakes I made Caitlyn he said PB Chocolate sounded good, but of course I hated to make the exact same recipe so soon. So during the 5.5 hour drive to the village I pondered how I was to top them.
The answer – bananas.
And two kinds of decadent batters swirled together to create a heavenly cupcake. To top these moist mixtures – a rich peanut butter banana buttercream.
My mom swears that the simple butter cream frosting for the Pralines & Cream cupcakes of 2013 was better, but I stand by my judgement that the peanut butter banana buttercream I used this time is better. I am convinced that I can now die after eating this. In fact, I almost died on the spot.

Do I have you drooling yet?

Do I have you drooling yet?

Ingredients: 

Chocolate Batter:

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 6 tbsp oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup agave syrup

Peanut Butter Batter:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2/3 cup peanut butter (I used smooth light, but you can use any variety)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs

Frosting:

  • 6 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 ripe banana, mashed
  • 4-5 cups icing sugar (depending on how stiff you want it to be)
  • chocolate chips (for drizzle, optional)
Get this stuff together first.

Get this stuff together first.

Directions:

For the Cupcakes:

  1. Preheat oven to 425F.
  2. For each batter, in 1 bowl mix together the dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking soda/powder, and cocoa powder, where applicable).
  3. In a second set of bowls mix wet ingredients except eggs (sugar, butter/oil/peanut butter, vanilla, agave, milk) until fully incorporated. Once the liquid is smooth, add eggs and beat until just combined.
  4. Either make a well in the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients and mix until just combined OR add dry ingredients slowly to the wet mixture, again, mixing until just combined. Both batters will be fairly thick at this point.
  5. Spoon equal amounts of each batter into lined or sprayed muffin tins (24) so that cups are 3/4 full. Using a knife or a spatula, cut through the batter a few times to swirl the batters together.
  6. Bake for 5 minutes at 425F, then reduce the temperature to 375F and continue baking for 10-15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the pan then transfer to a cooling rack and allow to cool completely before frosting.

    They'll come out looking something like this. Starting them at 425 is what gives these cupcakes the nice puffy dome.

    They’ll come out looking something like this. Starting them at 425 is what gives these cupcakes the nice puffy dome.

For the Frosting:

  1. Mash the banana and mix with butter, peanut butter, and vanilla until smooth.
  2. Slowly add icing sugar (1/2 cup-1 cup at a time) until desired stiffness is achieved (I used 5c).
  3. Add icing to a piping bag (or ziplock baggies work) fitted with a frosting tip of your choice and frost cooled cupcakes.
  4. If you are doing a chocolate drizzle  simply add chocolate to a glass bowl and melt in the microwave, then use a fork to drizzle over the cupcakes, I would stick to 30-45 second intervals to make sure you don’t scorch the chocolate.PBC frosted

That’s it. They are that easy. And they are worth the dishes that come from doing 2 batters for 1 cupcake. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

