In Which I Make a Giant and Delicious Mess: Butternut Squash Ravioli with Goat Cheese and Toasted Pecans

In all it's glory. Yum.

So gather round. Let me tell you a story. A very amusing story from last January.

At the finish line

At the finish line

It was the Friday before my brother’s Hypothermic Half-Marathon in Kanata, and knowing he had to carb load I offered to make him ravioli with my newly shipped ravioli stamps. See problem is that I didn’t think this through entirely.

  1. The dough was impossible to knead, or I was just too weak.
  2. I didn’t actually have a rolling pin. So I improvised by using a bottle of wine. Which made things über classy and made rolling the dough thin enough mission impossible.

So after 3 hours of kneading and rolling, and attempts to cut beautiful raviolis that were horribly overstuffed and wouldn’t seal because the dough was dried out and tough. That night I decided to never attempt to make pasta again. Ever.

Cory and I still laugh about it.

But see, then I got myself a pasta roller and a Ninja blender system for Christmas. This system when I requested it boasted a dough blade and so I thought, thank God! I can finally make pasta again! And then I realized that I did not necessarily need the Ninja system per say. The internet was full of recipes for how to make pasta with a food processor.

I am still beyond excited about my new toy. I missed my smoothies being made in their cups instead of being transferred into their to-go cups. I have been working with an ancient food processor (legit it came from my mom who had it for 30 years before I bought her a food processor and got the hand-me-down). And it’s so shiny and pretty.

But back to the delicious, crown jewel of this post – the amazing ravioli. This, while mildly time consuming, meant that I was able to spend some wonderful time with my mom and best friend.  And I finally feel okay about making my abilities to make ravioli.

Mamma D makes a great assistant! :)

Mamma D makes a great assistant! 🙂

Thursday I walked into HMV where my good friend Victoria works, walked to the cash and informed her “You’re coming to my house for pasta tomorrow. Just so you know.” And walked away. Now the pressure was really on. I couldn’t twice invite someone promising fresh pasta and hand them a giant doughy mess. My mom and I always go to Milestone’s specifically for the butternut squash ravioli. Seriously. It is so good, if I had to trade… coffee… for this ravioli I would. For those of you who know that coffee has sort of replaced my blood, you know this is a serious trade.

Of course, this pasta is worth it.

I mean sweet basil tomato sauce (I cheated and used jarred sauce, but it was the premium sauce), peppered goat cheese, toasted pecans, and pureed roasted squash. Stop drooling on your keyboard. It’s not good to get electronics wet.

I posted a picture yesterday morning, and have already had several  requests for the recipe. So I am assuming you need to make this too. Who am I kidding – anything this delicious must be made multiple times.

Butternut Squash Ravioli with Toasted Pecans and Goat Cheese

In all it's glory.  Yum.

In all it’s glory. Yum.

Ingredients:

For the Pasta

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1-3 tbsp of water

Butternut Squash Filling

  • 1 lb butternut squash cut into 1 inch cubes (If you’re lazy like me, you can buy it from the grocery store pre-cut)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 small onion, sliced
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese

Toasted Pecans

  • 1 cup pecans
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper flakes (optional, hey some like it hot.)
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup

Serving Stuff

  • pasta sauce
  • goat cheese (about 2/3 of a cup should do, can be either a log or crumbled)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400F.
  2. Toss butternut squash with olive oil, herbs, onions, and garlic. Arrange in a single layer in a glass pan and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until fork-tender.Butternut Squash Roast
  3. Meanwhile, in a food processor, combine salt and flour and pulse several times to mix it up. Crack the eggs on top and put the cover back on. Process for about a minute or until the dough comes together in a ball. If it is course and crumbly and doesn’t come together after a minute, slowly add water a tablespoon at a time until it forms a ball.

    This is so much easier with a food processor

    This is so much easier with a food processor

  4. Once you have a ball remove it and knead it several times on the counter until it is a well formed ball and reasonably elastic. Wrap in plastic wrap and allow to rest at room temperature for at least 30 minutes.
  5. After the squash is done, allow it to chill and then puree it in the food processor with the goat cheese and set aside.butternut squash puree
  6. While the dough is chilling, add syrup, butter, brown sugar and cayenne peppers to a small sauce pot until hot and bubbly. Add pecans and turn to coat. Remove from heat and spread in a single layer on baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes at 350F stirring every 3-4 minutes.
  7. Once the dough is done resting, divide it into four sections, work one section at a time and leave the other sections covered to prevent them from drying out. Roll out with a rolling pin to 1mm thickness, or about the third lowest setting on the pasta press. Start on the widest setting and run through each setting twice, progressively thinning the dough. As you finish with each sheet dust with flour and cover with a towel to prevent from drying out.
  8. Once all the pasta is rolled out drop the filling by the tablespoon about an inch apart, fold the dough over to cover, and stamp with ravioli press or use a pizza roller to cut into raviolis. Dust immediately with flour to prevent from sticking together.
  9. Once all the raviolis are formed add to a pot of boiling water for approximately 3-5 minutes, or until floating and puffed.
  10. While the raviolis are cooking, heat marinara sauce in pan.
  11. Drain and rinse ravioli with cold water. Serve topped with marinara sauce, goat cheese and pecans.
Word to the wise - food tastes so much better with family.

Word to the wise – food tastes so much better with family.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: New Years and New You’s: Why I Think We Expect Too Much from a Countdown | climbing the crazy tree

Leave a Reply

