In Which My Addiction to Starbucks Spreads: Caramel Apple Spice Waffles

Mama and Papa Bear dig in! Family makes good food even better

So back in September when Starbucks mailed me a gold card, it became clear that I had a slight problem. That I am already almost at gold again for the year is almost alarming. It was probably about 5-6 years ago when my mom first tried a caramel apple spice from a Starbucks near the Eaton Center in Toronto. It was love at first sip. To the point that she finally bought a bottle of the syrup Starbucks uses and started making them for herself.

My certified coffee addict card. Thanks Starbucks. I feel the love.

My certified coffee addict card. Thanks Starbucks. I feel the love.

The best part of Christmas morning is always the big breakfast. We used to do pancakes but after my mom bought the family a waffle iron two years ago, waffles have become our thing. I normally make peanut butter banana waffles with mini peanut butter cups, but alas we had no ripe bananas. So I had to come up with something else.

A sliver of the Christmas decorations around our house. It's lovely. I'm so warm and fuzzy.

A sliver of the Christmas decorations around our house. It’s lovely. I’m so warm and fuzzy.

Fortunately inspiration struck when I realized that, horror of horrors, we had no coffee in the house. So I convinced my mom to take me to Starbucks on our way into the office. She off course, got a caramel apple spice, and the choir of angels began to sing.

Anyone who knows me knows that I eat A LOT of apples, and I will put cinnamon on just about anything for breakfast. So putting these in my waffles = yum. It’s not fall, so I guess it’s not really apple season, and for sure I cannot wait to try this with fresh from the orchard apples and cider. While I didn’t really have time (my parents were about to eat my hands they were so hungry) to caramelize some apples, these turned out fantastic. Nice and light with the perfect hint of warm caramel, cinnamon, and apples.

Super easy and super delicious, these are the perfect addition to brunch any day and what I love doing is splitting the waffles into quarters and freezing them, when you want waffles later, toast em lightly and yum any day of the week!

Enjoy these, and enjoy time with family! I am off to get my turkey on!

Image

Warm caramel, whip cream, apple cider in the waffles, does life get any better?

Caramel Apple Spice Waffles

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups + 2tbsp flour
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup oil (or melted butter)
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup apple cider (room temperature)
  • 1 apple, peeled and grated
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup Skor bits + extra for garnish
  • caramel sundae sauce
  • whipped cream

 

This waffle iron is my best friend

This waffle iron is my best friend

Directions: 

  1. Preheat waffle iron.
  2. Combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, and baking powder in a bowl and form a well.
  3. Beat eggs, milk, oil, cider, and vanilla in separate bowl.
  4. Pour into the well and beat until just combined. fold in Skor bits.
  5. Lightly oil the waffle iron, and pour waffle batter into the iron.
  6. Serve topped with whipped cream, caramel sauce, and more Skor bits.waffle stacks
1 Comment

  1. Pingback: New Years and New You’s: Why I Think We Expect Too Much from a Countdown | climbing the crazy tree

Leave a Reply

