Making Alcohol Socially Acceptable Part II: Bailey’s Cream Cheese Cookies

So I volunteered this weekend to bake for a charity bake sale. Good idea at the time. After last week’s repeated jokes with JP that we were going to bring Bailey’s to class, I thought, well gee that’s all fine and dandy, put it on my university bucket list, but there has to be a more socially acceptable way to do it. So I searched Bailey’s Cookies on Pinterest. I found this recipe from Gimme Some Oven. I have loved reading Ali’s blog since I started following probably about a month ago, and she actually has several really cool Bailey’s recipes so check it out!

Thing is that I have this thing where I hate using butter, and I love cheesecake. So I try to turn everything into some variant of cheesecake. In reality, in cookies you usually get a puffier, softer cookie that never really hardens, so my motives aren’t entirely motivated by my cheesecake addiction.

So when I started making these I decided to swap out the butter for cream cheese (chocolate OF course), but as in my Chocolate Oatmeal Cheesecake Cookies, I didn’t want to use a full cup of cream cheese, so I used half a tub of chocolate cream cheese, and half a cup of vanilla yogurt. I used fat-free, but in the future I would advise Greek, or at least a 2%. Problem with this game plan was that it also meant that I had to add some flour to stiffen the dough. After chilling for 3 hours it still wasn’t the right consistency so I had to add more flour and chill some more. But the end result was a puffy, moist cookie, so I consider it worth the effort.

If you are planning on doing this I would have an assistant – I had my dad spooning the dough up by the tablespoon and putting it on my floured hands so I could roll it into a ball, otherwise the spoon would have been a giant hot mess.

 

 

Bailey's Chocolate Cookies Two

 

Bailey’s Cream Cheese Cookies

Adapted from Gimme Some Oven

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tub chocolate cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • 1 1/2 c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 1/3 c flour*
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 pouch Starbucks VIA instant coffee (optional, if you don’t like coffee don’t put this in)
  • 8 tbsp Bailey’s Hazelnut Irish Cream (Regular would work too)
  • 1 1/2 cups (mini) white chocolate chips

 

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl sift together flour, baking soda, salt, cocoa powder, and coffee.
  2. Beat cream cheese, yogurt, and sugars, and vanilla until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until smooth. Add Bailey’s 1-2 tbsp at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.
  3. Slowly beat in flour mixture until well combined. Fold in chocolate chips and cover and chill the dough for at least 2 hours.
  4. Spoon out into balls slightly smaller than golf balls – roll them into balls in your hand if you want nice shaped cookies, if not feel free to do them like a normal drop cookie – onto either greased or lined cookie sheets.
  5. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes. Cool on rack for 3-4 minutes then transfer to a cooling rack.
Bailey's Chocolate Cookies :) Yes. Cookies with alcohol.

Bailey’s Chocolate Cookies 🙂 Yes. Cookies with alcohol.

* Please note that the amount of flour is based on fat-free yogurt – if you are using Greek yogurt reduce the flour by 1/3 of a cup to 3 cups.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: In Which I Question My Sanity and Consume Excessive Salmonella | climbing the crazy tree

Leave a Reply

