In Which I Question My Sanity and Consume Excessive Salmonella

Last week on pure impulse I agreed to bake some cookies for one of the philanthropic associations on campus. Probably partly out of a selfish desire to force JP to admit that, yes, my cookies ARE better than Grandma’s (as per our discussion in class). Thing I think neither of us was expecting was just how deep I would throw myself into this. If you’ve ever read the children’s book “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” you will understand what happened here. Except the mouse wasn’t asking for more, I just got a little excited and progressively started offering more. What started as an offer to make a batch of my Oatmeal Chocolate Cheesecake Cookies somehow became an offer to make 120 cookies (which actually made about 140, but don’t tell the philanthropists), divided between 4 varieties. It started so innocently. I figured well I only use half a tub of cream cheese for the Oatmeal Cookies, and I didn’t want to just take the easy way and bake off 80 of the same kind, I figured everyone likes variety and what if they can’t sell that many? So I decided ok, I’ll figure something else out to use the other half tub. So I sat and thought long and hard about what other ideas would be delicious and easy, and true to student style (though I’m gonna preface this by saying I’m really NOT a huge drinker), I found a way to bring alcohol into the picture in the form of Bailey’s Chocolate Cookies

But I didn’t stop there.

Sitting on the couch watching Secret Princes and imagining scenarios in which that turned out to be a thing with someone I knew, I had several Hallelujah moments. Not of the “aha! Aaraf is a prince!” variety, though of course he’s my knight in shining armor ;). I thought, I love cookies and cream – can I make a cookie doubly cookie?

Yes, Yes I can.

I decided to add this third variety of cookie after reasoning that I would have flour, sugars, and eggs left over – if I only bought ONE more brick of cream cheese I could make close to 100 cookies. But then we were back to the half brick of cream cheese problem.

Quality control = tasting before and after the dough is prepped (I took the duty of beater licking)

Quality control = tasting before and after the dough is prepped (I took the duty of beater licking)

Brushing my teeth, ironic given the fact that I was doing this thinking about cookies, I thought I love s’mores. There had to be a recipe out there. After searching through a couple recipes I finally settled on this one from the Six Sisters Stuff. It had the perfect mix of darling and ease.

For those of you keeping track – based on the average cookie yield of most recipes I was now up to 4 varieties totally approximately 120 cookies.

And because I have issues visualizing volume, I now have approximately 9kg of flour in my cupboard. Life lesson – just because it’s a better deal buying in bulk doesn’t mean you should. Though Costco has a fantastic deal on pure vanilla extract – just saying.

Thankfully I had a wonderful baking assistant, and we had Aaraf for quality control

So after that teeny tiny little offer to bake some cookies we ended up with the following:

I now have a very clear idea of what 120 cookies looks like

I now have a very clear idea of what 120 cookies looks like

What exactly did I make?

Bailey's Chocolate Cookies :) Yes. Cookies with alcohol.

Bailey’s Chocolate Cookies 🙂 Yes. Cookies with alcohol.

This was a pretty straightforward recipe, so I stuck mostly to this great recipe by Ali over at Gimme Some Oven. The only adaptations I made were to swap in cream cheese and yogurt for the butter, this meant that I also had to add some flour, but in the end I got a puffier cookie. For my version check out here.

Cookies and Cream Cheesecake Cookies :)

Cookies and Cream Cheesecake Cookies 🙂

I also made Cookies & Cream Cookies using a recipe from Acute Designs. Again, I stuck pretty much to the recipe, the only thing I did was swap butter for plain cream cheese, and add more Oreos and half a teaspoon more vanilla, because that’s how I roll. My version can be found here.

I'll take S'more? (bad pun. I know.)

I’ll take S’more? (bad pun. I know.)

In case you haven’t caught the theme yet – the only difference between this and the original? Cream cheese. Because cream cheese makes everything better. Since I use light cream cheese it’s also healthier for you than using butter. You can get the original recipe over at Six Sisters Stuff. I didn’t get quite the approximate yield of 40 but I most likely was just making them slightly larger than the original. I haven’t posted this separately because really I did the exact same thing – I just used half a brick of cream cheese instead of half a cup of butter and chilled the dough for 2 hours. Try it both ways – let me know – has my cheesecake addiction interfered too much?

And of course - the amazingly delicious Oatmeal Chocolate Cheesecake Cookies ;)

And of course – the amazingly delicious Oatmeal Chocolate Cheesecake Cookies 😉

Of course, I had to make the originally planned Oatmeal Chocolate Cheesecake Cookies!

Leave a Reply

