Oatmeal Chocolate Cheesecake Cookies

And of course - the amazingly delicious Oatmeal Chocolate Cheesecake Cookies ;)

I hesitate to call these THE BEST cookie, but I mean Ms Fields and Mr Christie got nothing on this cookie. As an added bonus, I use (Greek) yogurt and cream cheese instead of butter so I rationalize that since these cookies are “healthy” I can eat two. I mean they’ve got oatmeal, that’s healthy too right?

RIGHT????Oatmeal Chocolate Cheesecake Cookies

To demonstrate how easy these cookies are – I actually dragged my boyfriend into it, albeit very minimally after I asked him to measure flour without getting it on the counter and he spilled it. He has a lot of kitchen issues. He makes a fair sous chef, though I still apparently have a lot of teaching to do since when I handed him the beater, he asked me what to do with it. When I told him to lick it he asked me if that was “some sort of weird sex thing.” He also raised concerns about salmonella, to which I responded, “Meh, hasn’t killed me yet.” #villagelogic right there folks. We like to live on the edge.

But seriously. That was the best part of cookies as a kid. When my mom and I make sugar cookies at Christmas the yield gets cut by at least half a dozen cookies because we have a tendency to eat the “scraps.” And I remember once as a kid, me and my cousin actually made a batch of cookie dough, literally so we could eat it. Yeah we got in trouble when our moms got home. They made us bake it. Which ironically was the best that particular recipe EVER turned out and we have yet to replicate it. Figures.

These cookies blow those cookies out of the water though. Seriously. Prepare with caution.

The secret is in the cream cheese and yogurt.

The secret is in the cream cheese and yogurt. These ones also have raisins!

Go to the grocery store for this:

  • 3 cup quick cooking oats (not instant/minute)
  • 2 cup flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 tub chocolate cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup (Greek) yogurt*
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 cup chocolate chips (or any other “chip” – peanut butter cups, mint chips, Reece’s chips – whatever tickles your fancy)

When you get home, do this:

  1. In a bowl, beat sugars, cream cheese, and yogurt until well blended. Add eggs, one at a time, and vanilla (with the second egg), and blend until just combined.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Make sure it’s well mixed, and slowly add into the wet mixture. SLOWLY. Otherwise you’re going to end up with flour everywhere. Trust me. I speak from experience.
  3. Once it’s all blended in, add the oats and mix by hand (by this point it’s going to be a little much for your blender to handle). Fold in the chocolate chips.
  4. Chill the dough, covered for 1 hour. If you’re really impatient, feel free to skip it, but the cookies will be much softer, and you’ll be less likely to get a rubbery consistency.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375F. Drop the dough by tbsp full onto cookie sheets (if you chilled the dough as I recommended, it also means you cookies won’t spread out as badly, so feel free to place them closer (like two fingers apart, I suck at inches, fingers are much more useful a tool for visualizing).
  6. Bake for 8-12 minutes until starting to go golden brown. These are tricky, because they are brown to begin with, but the bottom should appear golden if you lift the edge up, and the cookie will have that nearly done dough look to it, they’ll solidify on the inside while cooling.
  7. Cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.
  8. Pour glass of ice cold milk and enjoy cookies.
  9. Hide remainder of cookies in a box marked “taxes – to be done” so that no one else will touch your cookies. If you’re a really generous person, bring them into work.

*I’ve done this with Greek and fat free yogurt, both work, the Greek gives it a creamier texture though! Also, vanilla is best, but it also works with strawberry!

Quicky note – I use chocolate cream cheese in these, if you want you could also use regular cream cheese, which would mean you could sub in, I don’t know strawberry chips? (I hear those exist in the States) Really you only have to swap out the cream cheese if you think the flavour combo would otherwise really suck. Let me know if you find a new cream cheese/add in combo and I’ll add it here!

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Psych Student Syndrome, the DSM, and How this Ended in Baked Goods | climbing the crazy tree

  2. Pingback: Cyclones of Knowledge: Perpetual Cycles of False Certainty and Predicting the Unpredicatable | climbing the crazy tree

  3. Pingback: In Which I Question My Sanity and Consume Excessive Salmonella | climbing the crazy tree

Leave a Reply

