How to Make Your Lazy Self Look Good: Pork Tenderloin with Apples and Onions in the Slow-Cooker and Caesar Smashed Potatoes

Race Weekend struck me with another conundrum – how to feed the 11 people that would be at dinner, without turning this into a Thanksgiving or Christmas level meal. It was ALMOST fall, and cold enough for me to count it as fall – which meant I could now break out my slow-cooker. And you know, use up all those apples I got last weekend at the orchard. Since I was feeding so many people I used four tenderloins, totalling just over 2kg, since no one really made a pig of themselves as my mother would say, I ended up with almost an entire tenderloin extra, but if I had I few heartier appetites it would have been perfect. Below I’ve included the recipe to serve half that – about 5-6 people, but the general rule I go with is 1 tenderloin=three people-ish, depending on the size of the tenderloin. Since my slow cooker was full after all the tenderloins I had to do the potatoes separate, but they would have been delicious cooked in the slow-cooker as well and left whole. I had intended on roasting them, however, time got away from me and the potatoes became too cooked to effectively roast. And what do you do when life hands you over boiled potatoes? You smash those potatoes and add creamy things.

Ingredients:

Pork Tenderloin

  • 2 pork tenderloins (about 1 kg)
  • 1/2 onion, sliced thinly
  • 2-3 apples sliced into wedges (about 2 cups, but more never hurt anyone)
  • 1/2 tbsp dried Rosemary
  • 1/2 tbsp dried sage
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Smashed Potatoes

  • 3 lb red skin potatoes (or any other potato), cut into chunks, skin on
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 3 tbsp margarine
  • 2-3 tbsp Caesar dressing

How to Make this Deliciousness:

  1. Put half the onions at the bottom of the slow cooker.
  2. Rinse the tenderloins and add them on top of the onions. Sprinkle with rosemary, sage, and salt and pepper. We’re not aiming to blacken the tenderloins but it should be evenly dusted with rosemary and sage. Add the remaining onions on top of the tenderloins.
  3. Top with apples. Sprinkle the apples with cinnamon, again, dusting them, but evenly covered. Add water, and cover.
  4. Turn on low for 5-6 hours.
  5. About half an hour before you are ready to serve, start your potatoes. Boil until fully cooked, about 15-20 minutes depending on the size of your chunks.
  6. Drain and add to a bowl/serving dish. Mash up the potatoes.
  7. Add remaining ingredients and whip into the potatoes.

P.S. Sorry there’s no pictures of the steaming deliciousness – with a hungry horde of people here there was no time for photos, all I got was the aftermath photos – but send me yours and I’ll add them!

The Aftermath of the Potatoes

The Aftermath of the Potatoes

I swear it was prettier before everyone pulled the pork apart - but it goes to show how tender this comes out - you literally pull and it comes off, no knife required!

I swear it was prettier before everyone pulled the pork apart – but it goes to show how tender this comes out – you literally pull and it comes off, no knife required!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Running, Eating, and Dog Tags | climbing the crazy tree

Leave a Reply

